Inauguration Day | I’m Relieved. I’m Angry. I’m Ready. I’m Excited.

Rad McMasterson
5 min readJan 20, 2021

I remember watching exit polls late into the night November 8, 2016. It was more red than I felt comfortable with, but there were a few Democratic strongholds just waiting for the big cities to come in. It’s the same almost every election. I went to bed fully expecting to wake up to headlines about the first woman elected to the American presidency. Hillary Clinton wasn’t my first choice, but I was excited at the symbolism and what it represented for my then 5-year-old daughter and 2-year-old son. We had spent eight years making the world a more equitable place, and this would be yet another big step in our progression toward better.

I woke up to President Elect Donald Trump. I remember sitting on a bench in my bathroom waiting for the shower to warm up. I stared at my phone for what felt like an hour. I kept switching between media outlets and refreshing the feed thinking, ‘this must be a mistake.’ After two steps forward, we took a big step back.

I blasted Tom Petty on my way into work. That always makes me feel at least a little better. But I was in a bit of a daze for the rest of the day… and then some.

It’s been a long four years.

I just watched live video of Donald Trump leaving the White House for what I can only hope is the last time.

--

--

Rad McMasterson

I teach social studies. I shoot videos. I have lots of other projects that I fully intend to finish someday. I think about stuff… sometimes I write it down.